Life begins outdoor

Transition time

It’s typical, and you can even call it a routine, but to me, each run tells me a lot more something about myself. Each run is a little different than the other.

It’s just same rounds; twelve and a half in the oval, every other day. That will be 5 kilometers (popularly called a “fun run”). I know it’s an itsy-bitsy-5K, but hey, there’s got to be a starting point, like a hot ball of gas that explodes into a big bang.

As much as I want to concentrate on both speed and endurance, lots of readings and lit about running told me to just stick to one – and I sided with endurance.

It’s been three months and I’ve been listening closely to my body. It’s giving me signs to go for the next level – 10K.

I nailed that 130 pounds this week, a goal I set when I came back to running 2 ½ months ago, after a ‘runner’s knee’ injury.

Being 5’5” and 139 pounds last January creates some drag, and these past weeks, the recent 5Ks felt easier and lighter. Got that 9 pounds shelved since I started to seriously stick to my typical MWF-5K routine.

It may seem easy but no, it’s not. It entails a lot of motivation and discipline. It’s about planning ahead, setting goals and doing it.

It’s more complicated when you have two toddler daughters and a beautiful wife to love and to take care of. To top it all, you have to squeeze in the passion into a lot of projects and tasks to make it all work.

So no, it’s not easy. It’s hard. But it’s very rewarding in the end.

It’s going to be harder this time, getting used to 10Ks, and it will eat up more time. But the outdoor is calling. Don’t run easy, as one ad goes – run like an animal.

Leave a comment